Steppin’ Out

When I was writing this up, I found not just one quote to use, but two. I’ll title this with Joe Jackson’s song and include the video at the bottom. But following is another sonnet from Harper’s beloved Poetry Magazine archive (which really is a nifty source of material!)

How can I offer you the dull, frayed song
Of love I know? Each word would stumble on
A memory; and I should see a long
Blurred line of faces grimacing upon
A musty curtain of the past …. Ah, no ….
Let me be silent …. Words would only sound
A monotone: a toxic, cloying flow
Of echoes would sift through, and eddy round
My voice, and all the rapture that I feel
Would turn into a harlequin and steal
Away beneath the vivid, measured hum
Of mockery. Ah, dearest, may there come
An ecstasy of stillness in each day,
That you may sense the thoughts I dare not say!

Marion Strobel, untitled sonnet
Poetry (XV:vi) March 1920, p. 316

  • Skin (BoM): Belleza Bianca (Mocha – Blk Brow)
  • Head: LAQ Zahra 3.07 Bento
  • Body: Maitreya Lara 5.0.2
  • Eyes: Ikon Sovereign (Rustic)
  • Hair: no.match no.sleep.
  • Gown: Sn@tch Opal (new release)
  • Shoes: Sn@tch Calais pumps
  • Jewelry: EarthStones Diamond Tennis set (necklace, earrings) and Ava diamond bangles
  • Eyeshadow (BoM): Blacklace Beauty Night Out (3 w/Lashes)
  • Lipstick (BoM): Zibska Iova (sm/LAQ 07)
  • Nails: {ZOZ} Bento long coffin nails

Total ARC: 74,127

I love this song, and this video illustrates what we do in Second Life (as I did in my photos above) quite nicely, transforming ourselves for a time into whatever life we want to live, to change away from the humdrum and pains of daily Real Life.