Standing By the Sea

Chess is a sea in which a gnat may drink, and an elephant may bathe.

Unknown proverb, variously attributed

Chess, like love, like music, has the power to make men happy.

Siegbert Tarrasch

You may be surprised, but I play chess. You shouldn’t be; many women play, and there are regular championships at both the national and world level. Like so many aspects of women’s life, we just don’t get the publicity or other public notice that the men do.

Here, though, I’m surrendering the board to Conan for a cover to one of my stories. The focus of my story is, for once, a man, Latifah’s husband, and so he’s the one at the board. (I’m still helping him analyze an opening, though.) The photo looks better with two in it instead of one, and so I chose to model a dress that I’d pulled out of the depths of the Black Hole of Calcutta … uh, my Inventory, that is … and which I wish I’d worn long ago. You may have to tweak your shape to fit in this Standard Sizing dress, but the time is worth it!

SUPPLEMENTAL, Aug. 25 — I’m gonna need to whack Conan over the head with a halibut; he still hasn’t sent me his clothing list. Well, he’s never been a fashionista. Just be glad that he looks good …. (Grin)

=====

The details:

  • Head: Vista Zoe Bento 1.1
  • Body and feet: Maitreya Lara 4.1
  • Hands: Vista Prohands 2
  • Eyes: IKON Sovereign (Leonine)
  • Hair: EMO-tions Andrea long
  • Dress: Valentina e. Even The Stars Fall For You (copper dress, lavender overskirt)
  • Shoes: Italiano Jess
  • Jewelry: Empyrean Forge Continuum necklace and earrings; Chop Zuey Kalani wedding suite; RealEvil LUX Viva watch
  • Eyeshadow: alaskametro Muse (Omega, Peacock)
  • Lipstick: Astrae Underdark Evil (Omega, slot 2)
  • Nails: Livia Glam Goddess (Omega, blue)

Playable chess set by Dutchie Furniture and Homes